Cart 0


“SIRENS is a personal Odyssey. Two years ago I hoisted my bed onto 2-meter “stilts“, built a recording booth underneath it, and was stowed away in that hull every single night. Black Widow was filmed there; it represents the darkest moment in that journey. It’s my Land of the Lotus Eaters and the Sirens wailing from the shore. It’s Francis’ self-destructive little sister. It’s realizing that after all those years of fearing the monster under the bed, that it was you all along.”




Order SIRENS 12” vinyl LP at the button below:

SIRENS LP also available at Silver Disc, Wrangelstrasse 84 in Berlin-Kreuzberg

SIRENS is the debut LP from American singer-songwriter and indie-folk artist Jon Campbell. It is his first release since his EP 'About a Boy’ debuted in 2016.

The album’s 10 tracks oscillate between alt-country and indie folk, with melancholic country ballads like its title track and the song “Broke Me” interspersed with a lo-fi, drum-machine-driven ode called “Lior”, or a jubilant celebration of gay love in the track “Rebels Without a Cause”, which features Berlin’s Pet Shop Bears Choir.

The album’s debut single “Francis” was released on April 12th to considerable acclaim in queer and alternative press:

“This track wasn’t a rush for clicks or likes. This track is a message from within, and it hit me like a hammer… what divides Campbell from other artists is that in my opinion, every track, every video and every painting is a snapshot of his soul.” - Florian Maier, KMS Reviews

“From his debut LP ‘SIRENS’, majestically succulent presence of JON CAMPBELL is like a trip back into time. Like a soldier torn to pieces in heart and emotion, in Jon’s single ‘Francis’, the beckoning vibes hit full tilt as the stripped down and acoustic ballad, wrangle with your pre-dispositions and doesn’t want you to let go. Home is where the heart is, but home is hard to fathom while in a personal soup of negligence and torture… Words speak volumes in Jon’s constructions, as he deems them each, a brick that can forge skyscrapers of goodness, self-reflection, and hopefully, final contentment.” - comeherefloyd


“I almost called the album “Francis” because the song was so instrumental in the creation of the whole record. He was like gatekeeper at the floodgates of a bunch of songs: once he came about, song after song kept coming out of me, sometimes on a daily basis.

It came to me at a very dark period in my life, and it felt like a map to get out of hell. I think of Francis like an inner child, beckoning me to go on the two-year journey that became ‘Sirens’, showing me the way out of a dark place.”

- Campbell for Zap!Bang! Magazine


“Sirens is also the name of second track I wrote for the album - I’d written it immediately after “Francis” and once I did, it was clear that I was making a whole record. From that point on I knew the album would also be called ‘Sirens’. The idea of ships lost at sea, sirens wailing through the dark - for rescue or for ruin - and the confusion or congruence of those two things, as well as a strong sense of danger and emergency - all signified so much of what I was feeling at the time the songs were conceived. I wrote many of the album’s arrangements with this idea in mind, and personified the instruments in my mind, like characters in a play.”

SIRENS are the intimate recollections of a journey through love and heartbreak as well as destruction and recovery, as told from several perspectives; each song representing different instruments, presenting their stories in their own distinct settings.


“Rebels Without a Cause” is the second single off the SIRENS LP, released on May 31st 2019

The self-produced record’s 10 tracks were recorded in the Berlin-based artist’s bedroom, with additional recordings made at Berlin’s Famous Gold Watch, Funkhaus, AudioCue and Trixx Studios, as well as O'Deer in Brooklyn and The Pool in London.

Campbell presents his own original arrangements on seven of the album's ten tracks. Tracks 3, 4 & 10 feature arrangements by Jamie Irrepressible. The album is comprised almost entirely of acoustic instrumentation, including acoustic guitar, strings, piano, double bass, drums, brass, oboe, saxophone, and banjo.

Side A features the album's title track, as well as two remastered tracks from the 'About a Boy' EP. Tracks 3 & 4 were produced by Jamie Irrepressible.

SIRENS features performances by 25 musicians, including guest appearances from The Pet Shop Bears' Choir, Jamie Irrepressible, Mikey, Joel Gibb, Malte Schiller, Joey Steffens, Vladislav Nachev, Monk, and Caroline Potter.